The Framework About
Cradle to Cradle

Cradle to Cradle

Cradle to Cradle Certified® is a product standard managed by the Cradle to Cradle Institute. To receive certification, products are assessed for environmental and social performance across five categories: material health, material reuse, renewable energy and carbon management, water stewardship, and social fairness. 

Visit website
Sustainable Development Goals
Proof Point Level
Product Business

Standard Summary

  • Material Health assesses the level of safety of the chemical used both for humans and the environment

  • Material Reutilisation ensures materials can be reused and aims to eliminate waste

  • Renewable Energy and Carbon Management assesses whether a business uses renewable energy as well as the business' general impact on Climate Change

  • Water Stewardship explores a businesses water use as well as pollution levels

  • Social Fairness looks at the businesses social practices and working conditions

  • 5 levels of certification exist: Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum

  • Paper audits every 2 years

  • Certification is valid for 2 years

Additional Resources

Cradle to Cradle Standard

Get the latest transparency news

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter for the latest transparency insights and inspiring news.

Thanks for signing up. We'll be in touch soon.
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.